1. {Name}
    Welcome to the KKF!
    Please take a moment to register and stop by the New Member Check-In and say hello. We sincerely hope you enjoy your stay and the discussion of all things sharp.
    Feel free to jump right in on the conversation or make your own. We have an edge on life!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Take a look at our new AUCTION SYSTEM

This service is available to all KKFora members to both Bid on and Auction off (Sell)items.
    Dismiss Notice

New Bandsaw Blade Help

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by Dream Burls, Jan 14, 2016.

1. Dream Burls

Dream Burls Founding Member

I need to buy a new bandsaw blade and I'm looking for some help in choosing the right one. As you might imagine, almost all my cutting is resawing and I can go cross grain. I cut a lot of really hard woods like Ironwood and I usually limit the height to about 12". I use an 18" Grizzly bandsaw. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

2. I'm no expert and I don't know what's available to you. But it sounds like you could benefit from using bi-metal blades. I know alot of swedish knifemakers that praise those for harder woods, and they can also cut softer metals with them. I haven't tried them myself (in my cheap wood bandsaw) yet though.

3. butch

butch Founding Member

i like sterrat and lonex blades and if you dont mind the thicker kerf might look into carbide tipped teeth

4. Dream Burls

Good advice, thanks guys. I'm leaning towards a bi-metal. Kerf is important to me Butch as I'm often dealing with tight tolerances, but it's not a deal breaker. I'll check out the carbide tipped. Thanks again.

5. Lenox bi-metal was the best among everything I've tried so far. It's not the fastest (due to small teeth), but very durable and was the only blade that really allowed me to make precise cuts on my cheep bandsaw.

6. Dream Burls

Thanks Anton. I've gotten some other Lenox recommendations. I'll take a close look at those.

7. butch

butch Founding Member