1. {Name}
    Welcome to the KKF!
    Please take a moment to register and stop by the New Member Check-In and say hello. We sincerely hope you enjoy your stay and the discussion of all things sharp.
    Feel free to jump right in on the conversation or make your own. We have an edge on life!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Take a look at our new AUCTION SYSTEM

This service is available to all KKFora members to both Bid on and Auction off (Sell)items.
    Dismiss Notice

Knife transition suggestions

Discussion in 'The Kitchen Knife' started by Fabio Fullin, Jul 8, 2015.

1. Hard times, not much money, but I feel the need to. I need to get myself a new knife set. I have a lot of stainless steel knives and a few globals which I wanna get rid of. I don't have much, but I have a lot of passion. I'm looking for some good traditional japanese knives, not really expensive but also good. But seems like I am not experienced enough to understand which knife could be good for a non traditional japanese knife user but someone's who is in transition between western style knives and oriental style knives. So I'm asking you to express your opinion on which knife I should start with. A list of the best knives which to start with would be really appreciated, explaining why of the decision and personal feeling on each knife.
    Thank you for your help.

Fabio

2. Fabio, you could probably get a much better answer if you specify how you are going to use new knives. While western knives are tend to be more or less universal knives, in Japan they got 100500 knives for every task you could imagine. Usuba? There are several variations of them. Deba? Yanagiba? Udon Kiri? They all are very different and probably not that usable if you are cooking western food mostly. So I'll just make an assumption that you are looking for something universal and that's gyuto. A good chef knife is probably the most important thing in any knife kit, so let's start with guyto.