1. {Name}
    Welcome to the KKF!
    Please take a moment to register and stop by the New Member Check-In and say hello. We sincerely hope you enjoy your stay and the discussion of all things sharp.
    Feel free to jump right in on the conversation or make your own. We have an edge on life!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Take a look at our new AUCTION SYSTEM

This service is available to all KKFora members to both Bid on and Auction off (Sell)items.
    Dismiss Notice

do we need nakiris

Discussion in 'The Kitchen Knife' started by jock, Sep 9, 2014.

1. I am looking at expanding my working knife colection and was wandering what peoples opinion on nakiris were.
    I am a chef in a gastro pub, working staters and salads, so I dabble in almost everything but not in great big quantities.
    I have the
    210 hiromoto as gyuto
    150 hiromoto as petty
    Unknown turning knife
    Unknown bread knife
    250 sabatier chef knife
    Am waiting for J Adams cooks knife 10"

The unknown knives are cheep gifts from other chefs just to help me along at the moment.
    Any and all thoughts are welcome.
    The one thing that has surprised me in the industry is how little most chef know about knives and there proper maintenance.
    Definitely not including you guys in my last comment.

2. Brad Gibson

Brad Gibson Founding Member

I have a nakiri and usuba but use them almost never. I would say no.

You should look into getting a nice sujihiki IMO

3. I happen to love nakiris. Great veg knives. Out of curiosity, who is J Adams?
    Also, where are you located?

4. Contrasting views on the nakiri already, I like it, Knives are such a personal choice type of thing.