1. {Name}
    Welcome to the KKF!
    Please take a moment to register and stop by the New Member Check-In and say hello. We sincerely hope you enjoy your stay and the discussion of all things sharp.
    Feel free to jump right in on the conversation or make your own. We have an edge on life!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Take a look at our new AUCTION SYSTEM

This service is available to all KKFora members to both Bid on and Auction off (Sell)items.
    Dismiss Notice

Chefs and their knives

Discussion in 'The Kitchen Knife' started by chefcomesback, Jun 30, 2015.

1. chefcomesback

chefcomesback Founding Member

Before I start my argument I would to make it clear , I am going to talk about chefs and their knives ( cooks apply to this as well ) :not a regular guy /girl who puts white jackets and claims he /she is a chef but a person who received formal training , on Job training or both and does this for living . I have been cooking for living for 13 years as of now and for the last 8 years or so I have been into knives .( ok last year and bit I have been deeply into knives I must admit ) I have worked with literally 100s of chefs some of them in very very high end kitchens . Out of all the chefs I worked I can only count hand full of chefs with very good knife skills and only 2 or 3 knife nuts . I have literally taught so many of my chefs ( line cook , CDP ,sous chef ) how to use their knives properly . There is so little information from the school and very little emphasis about how to master their techniques or the importance of it . Most of the information is from here say and so on or what their chefs told them to do so .