1. {Name}
    Welcome to the KKF!
    Please take a moment to register and stop by the New Member Check-In and say hello. We sincerely hope you enjoy your stay and the discussion of all things sharp.
    Feel free to jump right in on the conversation or make your own. We have an edge on life!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Take a look at our new AUCTION SYSTEM

This service is available to all KKFora members to both Bid on and Auction off (Sell)items.
    Dismiss Notice

Carter Regrind - Chef Knife to Funayuki (?) from Beginning to End

Discussion in 'The Kitchen Knife' started by captaincaed, Dec 27, 2017.

1. Changing a short Murray Carter chef's knife into a funayuki (?), from beginning to end, with all the boring bits removed! I'm not a professional, and I thought other beginners might like to see the whole process as they might want to do it. Lots of commentary for those interested, lots of links to guide you to the bits you may want to watch.

Problem: I have a small chef knife that doesn't cut all the way through vegetables, and isn't long enough to rock-chop well. I want to use it for board-work, so I need a flatter profile. It's not a cheap knife, so it's worth the time investment for me.

Solution: Re-grind the knife profile for a flatter edge so that it's more effective for board-work and chopping. Process: Using only stones, we'll get the whole process done from re-grinding, thinning the blade and restoring the old convex grind so that it continues to cut well and look great.

Suehiro - 100grit (dry)
    King Combo - 220grit/1,000grit (waterstone)
    Fingertips - Thin and Tender

Attached Files:

2. When you started to re-profile it, the thought that instantly jumped into my head was "He's not going to get very far with that file." :D

I think you did a great job with the tools at your disposal. You are correct, for a tool to be worth it's existence, it needs to do what we need them to do.