1. {Name}
    Welcome to the KKF!
    Please take a moment to register and stop by the New Member Check-In and say hello. We sincerely hope you enjoy your stay and the discussion of all things sharp.
    Feel free to jump right in on the conversation or make your own. We have an edge on life!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Take a look at our new AUCTION SYSTEM

This service is available to all KKFora members to both Bid on and Auction off (Sell)items.
    Dismiss Notice

Anyone here fly fish? I'm just getting started again.

Discussion in 'The Great Outdoors' started by Andrew, Apr 2, 2014.

1. Andrew

Andrew Have Pen Will Travel Founding Member

I did a little fishing growing up just outside the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, and I fished some while we lived in the UK. Now that we've moved to Oregon permanently, I think fly fishing is something I need to take up in earnest. There are a lot of amazing rivers here, and my girlfriend is keen to learn.

Luckily for me, she appreciates the value of buying decent gear. Earlier tonight she said, "I can use your old reel until I decide if I really like fly fishing, and you can get that Bauer you want." (Her reasonable nature is part of why I feel like one of the luckiest men alive.)

Until now, I've been using a hand-me-down Eagle Claw rod from the 1970s(?) with a Cortland reel (decent reel made in the UK). I don't have waders or boots.

I'm considering:
    Greys GS2 9', 5 weight rod
    Bauer MAC 1 or 2 reel (Made in Oregon :)) or Ross Reels Vexsis 2

I'm also looking for breathable chest waders and boots. Any recommendations? The Simms waders seem nice.

2. John Fout

John Fout Founding Member

Shop around and you will find Simms for sale. They be last year's model or something but they will give a lot of use before they wear out. Your under layers with the waders play a big role too.